After the completion of the 1951 Census it was apparent that, as a result of a wartime shift of population, a substantial reduction in the representation of the Province of Saskatchewan would ensue under the rules then regulating representation. Accordingly, in an effort to eliminate sharp reductions in provincial representation from one census to another, the British North America Act was again amended (RSC 1952, c. 304, Sect. 51) (see Canada Year Book 1963-64, p. 75) to ensure that the representation of any province should not be reduced by more than 15 p.c. at any one readjustment, subject however to the qualification that the effect of the rule should not be to make the representation of a province with a smaller population greater than any province with a larger population.

Subsequently in 1952, Parliament enacted RSC 1952, c. 334, effective in the General Election of 1953 and in each successive General Election down to that of the Twenty-Sixth Parliament (Apr. 8, 1963), which provided that representation in the House of Commons should be on the following basis:—

"Sect. 2.—Eighty-five members of the House of Commons shall be elected for the Province of Ontario, seventy-five for the Province of Quebec, twelve for the Province of Nova Scotia, ten for the Province of New Brunswick, fourteen for the Province of Manitoba, twenty-two for the Province of British Columbia, four for the Province of Prince Edward Island, seventeen for the Province of Saskatchewan, seventeen for the Province of Alberta, seven for the Province of Newfoundland, one for the Yukon Territory and one for Mackenzie district of the Northwest Territories, thus making a total of two hundred and sixty-five members."

Enactment of an Electoral Boundaries Readjustment Act was being debated in the House of Commons throughout the spring of 1964 as required by the British North America Act, 1867 (Sect. 51), following the completion of the 1961 decennial census. The proposed legislation provides for the establishment of an electoral boundary commission for each province to prepare a report for the Representation Commissioner (SC 1963, c. 40) charged with the responsibility of transmitting a certified copy to the Speaker of the House of Commons setting forth the boundary commission's recommendations concerning the division of the province into electoral districts and concerning the description of the boundaries of each such district and the representation and name to be given thereto. The new boundary readjustment Act, if passed before this volume goes to press, will be outlined in the Appendix.

The number of representatives of each province elected at each of the 26 General Elections since Confederation is given in Table 9.

9.—Representation in the House of Commons, as at Federal General Elections 1867-1963

Province or Territory	1867	1872	1874 1878	1882	1887 1891	1896 1900	1904	1908 1911	1917 1921	1925 1926 1930	1935 1940 1945	1949	1953 1957 1958 1962 1963
Ontario Quebec Nova Scotia New Brunswick Manitoba British Columbia Prince Edward Island Saskatchewan Alberta Yukon Territory Mackenzie River, N.W.T. ¹ Newfoundland	82 65 19 15 	88 65 21 16 4 6	88 65 21 16 4 6 6 	92 65 21 16 5 6 6 	92 65 21 16 5 6 6 4	92 65 20 14 7 6 5 4	86 65 18 13 10 7 4 10{	86 65 18 13 10 7 4 10 7	82 65 16 11 15 13 4 16 12	82 65 14 11 17 14 4 21 16	82 65 12 10 17 16 4 21 17	83 73 13 10 16 18 4 20 17 1	85 75 12 10 14 22 4 17 17 17
Totals	181	200	206	211	215	213	214	221	235	245	245	262	265

¹ Northwest Territories in 1963.